It was the middle of January.

For weeks, the sky had been bleak, cloudy, and gray. We all had been cooped up inside with nothing to look at but the dreary outdoors, and it had begun to wear on me, even though I wasn’t usually prone to seasonal depression.

I began to wonder if the sun would ever come out again.

I began to pray for sunlight, for the clouds to clear away, but to no avail. Every day was the same; gloomy, sad, and disheartening.

Not long after, my birthday came around. It was a Sunday (a Sunday like any other, really) but when we all filed into the church pew near the stained glass windows, I struggled to see the priest during the homily because the sun was shining directly in my eyes. I was super annoyed, and thus it wasn’t until after Church that I realized that the SUN had been shining in my eyes!

So why am I telling this story?

Because after all those prayers, all those pleas for the sun to come out, I was still too blind to see the gift that God had literally put right in front of my eyes. I had stopped expecting and waiting for God’s gift, and instead found it annoying when it finally came along, all because I hadn’t been looking for it and believing that better days would come. I had given up on trusting that God would give me not only what I needed, but also what I desired.

And in the past months, I’ve realized this – that even if your dreams don’t come true in the exact same way that you thought they would, they pretty much always do. Just because God makes you wait doesn’t mean He’s not going to answer your prayer. It doesn’t mean He doesn’t care. It’s simply about trust. It’s about learning to wait upon the Lord and believe that He is good, that He will consistently fulfill His promises, because He wants the best for you forever and always.

So even if it feels like things will never get better, like the sky will be perpetually gray, remember this; good things come in due time. Always. Because God is a loving, gracious father, and true fathers love to listen to the needs and wants of their children. So continue to pray, to ask, and to rely on the infinite goodness of God.

He will never let you down. ❤

7 thoughts on “Waiting On God: A Reflection

Leave a comment